top of page

Age of Empires 4: This is not a drill


I remembered my first time playing Age of Empires. I think I was still in 4th grade when I got my hands on Age of Empires II: Conquerors. It was the game besides Red Alert 2 that hooked me into loving RTS games. A few years after, I got my hands on Age of Empires III and all of its expansions as well and loved every single bit of it. Today, with the announcement of Age of Empires IV, I was lost for words.

Microsoft Games announced the 4th installment of the game yesterday, accompanied by an official announce trailer which you can watch above. While still in development, it will be available first on Windows 10 PC. Its predecessor, Age of Empires III, was released way back in 2005 followed by two expansions, mainly Warchiefs in 2006 and Asian Dynasties in 2007, so Age of Empires IV has come a long way.

With Ensemble Studios gone, Microsoft Games turns to Canada-based Relic Entertainment to develop Age IV. Relic is widely-known as a developer of real-time strategy titles, having developed games like the Company of Heroes series, Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War, and Homeworld. I hope Relic keeps the form Age IV intact from the base-building to the individual units and not like what they did to CoH 2.

Together with this, Microsoft also announced that remastered versions of Age of Empires II & III are also in development. This is in no way connected with their project Age of Empires: Definitive Edition, which will be a remaster of the original 1997 Age of Empires.

Relic Entertainment has a few words regarding this announcement and you can read them here.

bottom of page